謝宛儒

謝宛儒是位華裔美籍的藝術家。在生活中,她沉浸於各種形式的藝術與創作,包含從聲樂的聽覺藝術,醫學領域的人文藝術,到現今的視覺藝術,都是她喜愛鑽研的範疇。

她的聲樂表演經驗已長達二十年之久,多次受邀於台灣、美國等地的電視台,參與多次的演出。她女中音的豐富音色,鏗鏘有力且渾厚感性,讓人留下深刻的感動與認同。她把視覺藝術比作她的聲樂表演,透過這二種外在的媒介,將她內心最深處的感受傳達出去,也為她的情感提供一個釋放的出口。

宛儒畢業於美國史丹佛大學(Stanford University)並取得文學士學位,之後於美國德州貝勒醫學院(Baylor College of Medicine)攻讀醫學。儘管已成為醫學博士並在醫學界擔任家庭醫生的她,創意藝術在她的人生中一直扮演著非常重要的角色。於美國居住長達三十年後,她最近搬回到土生土長的家鄉-台灣台北,並全心全意展開她創意藝術的設計生涯。 宛儒的作品以抽象畫為主,她的靈感來源大多來自於她在音樂和醫學領域上的感觸,以及對於大自然與周遭環境的啟發。 她在創作的同時,喜愛感受並追求自由的境界,與藝術進行對話與溝通,直到作品完成將內心的意念與情感完整呈現。 在繪畫媒材的選擇上,她愛好使用多種顏料素材,如壓克力、油彩、粉彩、炭筆、水彩和墨水等等,不局限於單一材料而使用複合媒材創作讓作品更能充分表達自己的意念。 對於她而言,藝術創作能突破常規,跳脫固定思維且能進入不可預知的想像空間。

宛儒一直有著這樣的信念,她認為「藝術賦予人們有無限表達自我的能力,可以讓不同背景或不同國籍的人產生共鳴; 藝術能超越界限使人交流並產生同理心,也能治癒心靈,更可以傳遞情感並啟發人心。 在這藝術的領域中,如同浩瀚的天空一般無垠無涯,很幸運的我能騎乘在這藝術夢想的翅膀上,自由遨翔並探索這個美妙的藝術世界。」

謝宛儒的CV

謝宛儒建構水墨新語法

陳芳玲

一切都湧向急流,湧向慾望之巔。    ──瑪格麗特.呂哈絲(Marguerite Duras),《情人》

對於一個自幼移民美國也生活了三十年的人來說,水墨運筆的線條,飽含了看似平庸卻最曖昧不明的激情,是奠基內在流淌的華人血液,是長年生活全然浸淫西方思潮而僅能遙望東方美學的目光差距。

水墨藝術在被迫回應當代與發揚傳統的訴求下,藉跨界技術轉化,革變創作方式與媒材——不再是昔日筆墨紙硯之間意念的產出,還能將水墨藝術行為化,或成為觀念表達的水墨裝置——既拓延傳統水墨認知,亦帶來本質變化。議題方面,1950、1960年代現代抽象水墨發展至今,繪畫表現因時代演變介入不少新觀點與思維,誕生一批批倡導不同形式風格與關懷精神如諷喻政治、反省人性價值觀、關心社會與環境問題,抑或純粹探討藝術價值等藝術家。謝宛儒即融合上述諸項的案例之一。

以後現代水墨抽象表述宇宙

真要算出道時間,謝宛儒是這三五年才投入創作的。過程稱得上無師自通。起初,單純拿起筆有樣學樣以滴流法填滿畫布,但內蘊的創作激情很快地不滿於此,她放棄了藉凝聚一點的筆來傳達心思欲念的方式,直接交付身體。在名為「Abstract Feeling」的系列作品中,可見她用手沾黏顏料後闡述的自然樣態;抑或「Dredging Love」,藉著無法完全控制的刮板與大筆刷交互作用,呈現既關照內心仍切乎現實的朦朧景致,順應其創作手法,暴力之餘還浪漫,寓意你我生存的真實世界運行模式。

謝宛儒的美學涵養不像東方學子經由「『被引入』的西方思潮」與「『被刪選過的』大師經典」來建構,而是融入日常,在相對第一手接觸下,滿足意識地追求自我喜愛的藝術價值。因此經歷抽象繪畫後才轉入水墨創作之際,面對僅以黑白翻證有無的筆墨之趣,她認為這一媒材具有的「提煉」特性,可以放大也強化創作者每一當下的起心動念,筆墨如何收放取捨顯得至關重要。

「Ink Collection」系列作為人們認知謝宛儒創作的標籤,近期在「水墨現場(Ink Now)」得到了很好的宣傳效益。她拖拉著自製如拖把的工具在宣紙上的「書寫行動」,不單與自身手感與呼吸相應,同時將離散(diaspora)的過去記憶依現狀感知重構,符合文化轉譯與混合現象中「靈活能指」的狀態。當我們檢視謝宛儒創作來時路,可見其筆墨反映了一定文化環境中的個人心聲,每一次的起心動念無不凝集了對歷史的繼承與批判、對人生的新體悟、對未來的憧憬。何況,謝宛儒創作目的即是尋獲一種可以連結全世界的方法,大方大膽地敦促彼此對話——在內涵有序且和諧的系統外,藉著指出那些外延的混亂(chaos)來看見更多可能——好比我們對宇宙的理解。

重看自然的筆墨旨趣

站在這個脈絡回看謝宛儒創作表現,毋庸置疑的是貼合己身文化養成所折射的對於「傳統」與「他者」的定義、尋求出路,乃至以(並置共融的)對話形式作為當代藝術關懷的反饋,透過舊式語彙拼出新語法,企圖再次勾勒世界輪廓。

「Ink Collection」系列在謝宛儒秉持「不能回頭,只能繼續」的原則下,兼容具象水墨步向古意幽情以及抽象構成水墨對傳統典範的解構氣質。《軌跡》是藝術家屏氣凝神後的一筆而就,訴諸瞬間,強調當下,然若反觀結果,實求永恆;在黑實白虛的結構布陳下,筆墨充分彰顯力度,深刻紙張以突出其存有的正確性。但就像陰陽太極,黑白分明之外點滴,竟成觀者突破循環律法的星引,翻轉出黑虛白實的另類解讀——那道黑墨好比一道強烈白色光束,劃破漆闇天際。相較之下,《游絲》服膺謝宛儒慣常數大美學。前期抽象油彩累積了她微觀萬事萬物的細膩視角,一面斑駁牆角、一扇以各種雨勢落在透明玻璃上的游移窗景、一個旋轉裙擺的舞女、一顆被風掃落繁葉的老樹⋯⋯只稍改變觀看路徑或與對象物間的距離,俯拾即是的具象景色不僅皆入謝宛儒抽象水墨,也全收納在她詮釋的宇宙景觀裡。《游絲》,顧名思義,重點非屬那道觸目驚心的濃墨,而是周邊氣若游絲的線條、滴墨、甩點。這樣總在一開始被厚重的黑吸引,卻為更多曖昧不明的白感到遲疑進而意猶未盡的表現手法,抑或實存西相卻裹著東方皮囊,不然就是在某個瞬間抽換、交疊觀者的既有傳統認知,滿溢難以言明的神祕色彩與精神寄託,導致隱含激昂澎湃的畫面之下,清晰可見的是藝術家對萬物深厚的關切與祝福之意,透過謝宛儒再現的自然世界,也讓觀者得以獲得慰藉與力量。

畫面囈語般的敘述如同蘊藏藝術家無窮熾熱的創作慾望及對世界的好奇,一瞬間變包含了所有,而一且都還沒有發生;即使忘掉世間萬物的長相與名字,她會一輩子記得那個起心動念的下午。

水墨大迴旋:宛儒的韻化書寫

夏可君

水墨的潛能到底有多大?水墨在現代性的轉化中,從之前的“小型書寫”,無論是書法的個體表達還是筆會的交往場景,如何進入個體化的大型書寫?水墨並不拒絕表演化與行為化,在波洛克的滴灑行動繪畫之後,也給了水墨能量美學與身體表演的機會,儘管波洛克的滴灑行動也許還與中國傳統的潑墨隱秘相關。

進入現代語境中的水墨表現,也有大量中國與西方的藝術家開始水墨的行動書寫,這在1990年代大陸盛行的實驗水墨藝術,在台灣與法國當代水墨書寫的冒險中,並不缺乏水墨的行動化,既有材質的表現也有書寫的行動。

但是當我們看到謝宛儒(Julie Hsieh)最近兩年的水墨作品,作為一個並非學習藝術但對音樂卻有著自幼修養的女藝術家,她進入水墨的方式,還是如此的直接與迷人,一種單純的音樂性注入到了水墨的呼吸之中,讓水墨這種單純樸素的材質具有了從未有過的音樂節律性,一種罕見的“韻化”式書寫藝術得以出場。

宛儒的出場異常動人,她就是以拉長如同“拖把”一樣自製的軟性工具在宣紙上直接“拖寫”或“刷寫”,其實這好似女性頭髮髮辮一樣的軟性工具,這既有著女性自身的敏感,也還暗中契合書法“筆軟則奇怪生焉”的原理,當代書寫藝術家都必鬚髮明自己的工具,井上有一就是如此,而且還必須是與自己的手感與呼吸相應的工具。

其次,這個在紙面上拖著滑動的“書寫行動”,最為自由,最為靠近手感的發揮,因此可以在宣紙上“刷寫”出旋風一般的筆觸,留下自由行走的痕跡,痕跡展現出來的爆發性,如同旋風與炫舞一般,似乎這是宇宙巨大旋風的瞬間投影,但被藝術家捕捉到了。這也是舞蹈式的繪畫,有時候宛儒還以手指直接去畫,產生微妙的痕跡,也是古代指畫的延續與個體行動的直接參與。

其三,畫面上形成兩種極端對比的痕跡,這是宛儒繪畫的語言特點:一方面是細若游絲的細線,這是刷與拖的迅疾動作所導致的線痕,宛儒自覺追求的是細線,就是女性髮絲一樣的呼吸,這也是古代“游絲線”的自然迴響,但這是以行動而非書寫傳達出來的,這一絲絲細線似乎還在呼吸,在奔走中叫喊,在自身的迴旋與迴響中,彼此呼應中,宛若水墨的“叫魂”;另一方面,則是濃墨的重力,集中一點的爆發力與重力,似乎要把畫面砸出聲響,宛若可以聽得到水墨的爆炸聲,那些濺射開來的墨點,宛若宇宙爆炸最初餘留的種子,是可以再次發芽的生命“粒子”。

重力的爆發點與細絲的迴旋感,就在畫面上形成了異常純粹與音樂式的張力對比,輕盈與重力,細碎與濃重,重心與散開,似乎畫面還在迴響最初的爆發,無盡的餘波與聲波還在畫面上迴響,這是韻化的迴旋,是視覺與聽覺的完美感通。

在宛儒的作品上,這種對比體現得異常和諧,這體現了她獨特的控制力與節奏感,這在她之前油畫的抽像作品上已經變得明確,那種如同音樂旋律一般起伏的形式,是只有經過幾十年音樂操練的生命,才可能擁有的瞬間爆發力,才可能畫出如此具有音樂節奏感的作品。

宛若的水墨書寫,乃是生命舞蹈的繪畫,是生命怒放的黑白花,是黑白藝術“氣韻生動“與“解衣磅礴”的當代表達,這是身體直接在場的繪畫,是生命靈根的發動,是能量呼吸轉化的大繪畫,由此水墨獲得了她夢寐以求的優雅而磅礴的生命姿態。

Julie Hsieh
Julie Hsieh's CV

Julie Hsieh is a Taiwanese-American artist. Throughout her life, she immersed herself in different forms of art and creativity, from the art of vocal performance, to the art of medicine, and finally to visual arts.

Her vocal performance spanned two decades with performances across Taiwan, the United States, and on television. Her singing is emotive and powerful, with listeners positively affected by her rich mezzo-soprano voice. She likens visual art to her performances as they are both mediums through which she expresses herself to others, providing a window to her inspirations, feelings, and the culmination of her diverse experiences.

Although Julie's first career was in medicine as a family physician—receiving a Bachelor of Arts from Stanford University and a medical doctorate from Baylor College of Medicine—creative arts has always played a significant role in her identity. After residing in the United States for 30 years, she moved back to her hometown of Taipei, Taiwan in 2014 to pursue creative arts full-time.

Julie’s artwork is abstract, inspired by her diverse backgrounds in music and medicine, as well as her surroundings. She seeks freedom while creating, engaging in a dialogue with her medium, a mutual feed back loop until she finds its final form. She uses mediums such as acrylic, oil, pastels, charcoal, watercolor and ink. For Julie, art is an escape from the routine, sameness, and predictability.

Julie feels that “Art is an expression of our humanity with unlimited potential to connect people from different backgrounds and nationalities. Art transcends boundaries and has the powerful capacity to heal, empathize, connect and inspire. The heavens is truly the limit and I feel fortunate to ride on the wings of art’s journey.”

Julie Hsieh Constructs a New Grammar for Ink

Fang-Ling Chen

“Everything flocked to the rapids and flocked to the shackles of desire.”
   -Marguerite Duras,The Lover

For a person who has lived in the United States for three decades since childhood, the lines of the ink brush may appear pedestrian and with unclear passion. But even after being fully immersed in Western thought, Chinese ink still runs in Julie Hsieh’s veins, and it provides her with a window into the aesthetics of the East.

The art of ink is forced to respond to the contemporary and the traditional. It has been transformed through cross-cultural thought—it is no longer solely dominated by the ideas of the past but has opened to embrace its own style. Ink has become a device of conceptual expression—both extending the traditional ink-and-wash awareness and bringing about essential changes to the medium. The modern abstract ink style developed in the 1950s and 1960s brought about by many new ideas and thinking due to the evolution of those times. There was revolutions in the allegory of politics, reflection of human values, concerns about societal and environmental issues, and the simple exploration of artists of their own intrinsic artistic value. Julie Hsieh is an extension of these times and the continuing movement within the abstract ink movement.

After the modern ink abstract expression universe

If we only look at time, Julie Hsieh has been creating art for the last three to five years. Her process has no teacher. at first, she simply picked up the brush and filled the canvas with a trickle of color; but her intrinsic creative passion was quickly dissatisfied with this. To the conveyance of her mind through the brush she added the direct delivery of her message with her body. In her series entitled “Abstract Feeling,” we can see the natural appearance of her emotions after applying the pigment with her hand; or in “Dredging Love,” which interacts with the large brush by wielding a scraper that cannot be fully controlled. Her heart presents a vision that is both realistic and ambiguous, in accordance with her creative techniques, her violence is still romantic, meaning that she operates at the real level of survival.

Julie Hsieh’s aesthetics is not like that of Eastern students. She was not “introduced to Western thoughts” and “the selected classics” to create her art but her daily life integrated these western ideas into her being. In the face of relative first-hand contact with these ideals, she attempts to satisfy her pursuit of consciousness. Her artistic value is self-love. Therefore, after experiencing abstract painting, she transferred this passion to the creation of ink on paper. Facing the pen and ink that only uses black and white, she believed that the "refining" characteristics of this medium could magnify and strengthen her every creative moment. The smallest of her choices in this medium are impactful and important in conveying her emotions.

The "Ink Collection" series, as a label for people to recognize Julie Hsieh’s ink artwork, have recently achieved good publicity at the “Ink Now” art fair. She pulled a handmade mop on rice paper in a flowing writing action, not only with her own simultaneously discrete feelings and breathing, but also with reconstructed discrete memories of her diaspora in line with her cultural translation and cross-cultural learnings to achieve a type of “flexible energy.” When we examine the way Julie Hsieh creates her art, we see that her ink reflects the personal heartfelt voice in a certain cultural environment. Every time her heart and mind are all agglutinating the inheritance and criticism of history, she finds a new understanding of life and the embrace of the future. What's more, Julie Hsieh’s purpose is to find a way to connect the world by boldly urging one another to talk t each other—beyond the system of connotation and harmony—to see more possibilities by pointing out the exaggeration of chaos and expand our understanding of the universe.

Reviewing the nature of ink

Standing in this vein, looking back at Julie Hsieh’s work, it is undoubtably that in the definition of “tradition” and “other” reflected in the cultivation of her own culture, she is seeking a way out, and even an (inclusive) dialogue as feedback for her contemporary art by moving from the old-style vocabulary to a new grammar in an attempt to describe the world anew. In her series of “Ink Collection,” Julie Hsieh adheres to the principle of “can't look back, can only continue,” and is compatible with the figurative ink and the abstract deconstructive temperament of this traditional style. Trajectory is the artist's breath after breath, and appeals to the recourse of the moment, emphasizing the present: if you look at the results, you will see the eternal. Under its black and white structure, her ink fully demonstrates her power to highlight the correctness of existence. But like the yin and yang of Tai Chi, this black and white is clearly different: the viewer moves past the view of stars to an alternative interpretation of black and white—that black ink is like a strong white beam, breaking through the dark sky.

In contrast, Gossamer displays Julie Hsieh’s custom of constant aesthetics. Her early abstract pieces accumulated a delicate perspective of the details of her work: a mottled corner, a moving window with rain falling on transparent glass, a dancing girl with a spinning skirt, and an old windswept tree . . . that only slightly changed the viewing path the distance from the object. The figurative scenery that is looming is not only in the abstract ink of Julie Hsieh, but also in the universal landscape that she interprets. Gossamer, as the name suggests, focuses not on the thick lines of ink, but on the strands surrounding the air: the drips of ink and flinging specks. In this way, the heavy black ink that dominates the paper hesitates for the unclear whites to show the Western view wrapped in an Eastern skin. Otherwise it is a momentary change that overlaps a viewer’s traditional understanding that is full of unspeakable mystery and spiritual sustenance that leads to an implicit allure. What is clearly visible is her deep concern and blessing for all things. Through this natural world recreated by Julie Hsieh, she allows the viewer to gain comfort and strength.

The language of the painting conveys Julie Hsieh’s inexhaustible creative desire and curiosity about the world. It has the effect of changing everything in a moment, and yet nothing has changed. Even if the viewer forgets the looks and names of all things in the world, she will remember the heartbeat of this art for a lifetime.

The great swirl of ink: Julie Hsieh creating with a sense of rhythm

Kejun Xia, Associate Professor, Renmin University of China

How big is the potential of modern ink? Classic ink started from a rich tradition of individual expressions of calligraphy and scenic representation, and in modern times moved to a larger, individualized expression. But how did that happen? The modern art of ink incorporates the elements of performance and action. Stylized after the drip-action paintings of Jackson Pollock, this style provides ink with opportunities to show the energy aesthetics of physical performance. Jackson Pollock's drip paintings, it should be noted, also show the influence of the traditions of Chinese ink splash techniques.

In modern art, many Chinese and western artists started to use the performance and action of Chinese ink, such as the art of the Experimental Ink and Wash movement that prevailed in Mainland China in the 1990s. Also, in places like Taiwan and France, artists used these techniques in combination with other existing mediums and materials.

When we view the ink paintings of Julie Hsieh over the last two years, we see a female artist who did not study art but studied music since childhood. And the way she enters the art world of ink is still so direct and charming. A simple musicality is injected into the breath of her ink works, which makes ink, this kind of simple material, accompany a musical rhythm that has never been seen before. She exhibits a rare calligraphic style of “yùn huà”: rhythm.

Julie Hsieh’s performance is quite moving. She uses a soft and handmade brush like a mop to directly drag the ink on large rice paper. In fact, her brush reminds me of her soft feminine hair. We can infer that Julie Hsieh is perceptive about women themselves, and her creation method is implicitly compatible with the principle of Chinese calligraphy of “bǐ ruǎn zé qíguài shēng yān”: the various forms of paintings can be drawn by a soft and flexible brush. The contemporary calligraphy artists always have their own particular tools. Inoue Yuichi, a famous Japanese calligraphy artist, is one such case. The tool should correspond with the artist’s hand and her feelings and breath.

Secondly, the action of her sliding brush on the surface of paper is free and has the feel of creation itself. She applies her vortex brushstrokes on the rice paper, like the traces of free walking and gliding. Explosive, like a whirlwind and a dazzling dance, it appears as a momentary projection of the huge cyclone in the universe as captured by the artist. This is also a dance style of painting. Sometimes, Julie Hsieh draws directly with her fingers to produce subtle marks. This is a continuation of the ancient finger-painting technique and the direct participation of her individual actions.

Thirdly, these two types of traces contrast to form the defining linguistic features of Julie Hsieh’s paintings. On the one hand, she forms fine gossamers lines by the swift movement of her brush across the paper. What Julie Hsieh consciously pursues are thin lines that can breathe, like a woman’s hair. It is like the natural reverberation of the Chinese ancient technique of “yóu sīxiàn”: the carving of curves as thin as gossamers on jade. It is conveyed, however, by action painting rather than calligraphy. These thin lines seem to be still breathing and yelling as they run in on their own swirls and reverberation. They echo to each other like the soul’s calling as if the viewer was pulled into the painting to feel its mood and meaning. On the other hand, there is the gravity of the thick ink, which focuses on its explosive power and force. This type of stroke seems to make the picture sound, as if you can hear the ink explosions. The remaining sputtered ink dots are like the seeds left in the original explosion of the universe, which are the particles of life that continue to germinate the universe.

The explosive point of gravity and the swirling feelings of the filament in her artworks are like the contrast between pureness and musical tension. Between lightness and gravity, fragment and heaviness, concentration and scatter, her art seems to echo with the endless power and sound waves from the initial explosion. This is the swirling of the rhythm and the perfect connection between both senses of vision and hearing.

In Julie Hsieh’s artworks, this contrast is extremely harmonious, which reflects her unique control and sense of rhythm. We can see this characteristic clearly in her previous abstract works of oil paintings, which are like the melody of music. Only a person who has had music drilled into them for decades can create this instantaneous explosive force to form artworks with such musical rhythm.

The ink paintings of Julie Hsieh are the paintings of life’s dance, rich black-and-white blooms as well as the vivid and majestic contemporary expression of black-and-white art. This painting style emphasizes the painter’s movement in the process of creating. It expresses the artist’s emotions and spirit. It is also a great energy-transforming painting. It is through this that her paintings acquire a graceful and majestic life.